Museum Re-Opened After Extensive Renovations


Located on the hangar deck of the USS Yorktown at Patriots Point, the museum details the eight eras of Medal of Honor history: The Civil War; Indian Campaigns; Wars of American Expansion; Peacetime; World War I; World War II; Korea; and Vietnam. Panels list all of the Medal of Honor recipients to date and include such well-known names as Audie Murphy, Sergeant Alvin York and Jimmie Doolittle.

Exhibits include memorabilia and artifacts relating to Medal of Honor recipients and archives of important documents. In addition to the permanent exhibit, rotating displays will focus on related areas of interest.

For more information, visit the Patriots Point website:

The National Headquarters and Museum for the Congressional Medal of Honor is located at 40 Patriots Point Road, Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464, aboard the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown, the centerpiece of Patriots Point Naval and Maritime Museum.

Patriots Point and the USS Yorktown

The USS Yorktown